State of the Net Fireside Chat with Max Schrems and Amie Stepanovich

Data Privacy at the 12th Annual . . .

Announcing Our State of the Net 2016 Fireside Chat Between
Max Schrems & Amie Stepanovich

In October, a European court sent shockwaves through Internet business and policy circles when it struck down the EU-US Safe Harbor program. The plaintiff in the case, Austrian law student Max Schrems, will appear at State of the Net to chat with Amie Stepanovich during our plenary sessions. Our break-out sessions will further explore transatlantic privacy and whether Safe Harbor can be rescued. Don’t miss it!


Eventbrite - WiFi


Other Confirmed Speakers Include:

Chad Dickerson, CEO, Etsy

Larry Strickling, Assistant Secretary for Communications and Information, Department of Commerce (Bio)

MIchelle Lee, Director, United States Patent & Trademark Office (Bio)

Terrell McSweeny, Commissioner, Federal Trade Commision (Bio)

Senator Al Franken, United States Senate (Bio)

Chairman Bob Goodlatte, United States House Judiciary Committee (Bio)

Deputy Secretary Christopher Lu, United States Department of Labor (Bio)

Julie Samuels, Engine Advocacy (Bio)

Amie Stepanovich, Access Now (Bio)

Alvaro Bedoya, Center on Privacy & Technology, Georgetown University (Bio)

Kashmir Hill, Fusion (Bio)

More speakers will be announced on a rolling basis on our website.

The State of the Net has long served as a platform for discussion surrounding the Internet infrastructure and global approaches to governance. Past speakers include ICANN President and CEO Fadi Chehade, Andrea Glorioso of the Delegation of the European Union to the U.S., Sally Shipman Wentworth of the Internet Society, and Milton Mueller of Syracuse University.

Don’t miss out on this exclusive opportunity to hear the state of affairs from these individuals for a timely debate!

Registration is now open


State of the Net is the largest Internet policy conference in the US. The conference began as an outgrowth of the Congressional Internet Caucus Advisory Committee (ICAC) briefings. When interest in Internet policy demanded a larger venue than the meeting rooms in the Rayburn building could accommodate we were forced out of the Capitol and onto Pennsylvania Avenue. Yet, State of the Net retains the same uncompromising devotion to balanced debate that is the hallmark of the ICAC program to this day. We share that commitment with the Co-Chairs of the Congressional Internet Caucus — Senators Leahy and Thune and Representatives Goodlatte and Eshoo.

Last year’s conference boasted a record crowd of over 800 attendees and featured keynote speakers including FTC Chairwoman Edith Ramirez, Assistant Attorney General Leslie R. Caldwell, United States CTO Megan Smith, Representative Cathy McMorris Rodgers, FCC Commissioner Jessica Rosenworcel, Representative Bob Goodlatte, Coinbase Co-Founder Fred Ehrsam, and Department of Homeland Security Under Secretary Suzanne Spaulding. Past speakers include UBER CEO Travis Kalanick, Dropbox CEO Drew Houston, and Comcast NBC CEO Brian L. Roberts.